Flying Home

by sarahcoggrave

Had San Francisco (or even Japan) been my last stop before flying home, that final trip to the airport would have been a difficult one. As it was, having shivered my way around Chicago and Boston – two cities I rather wish I’d omitted from my itinerary after visiting them during such cold periods – I couldn’t wait to return home.

Peace and quiet, a comfortable bed (no more bunk beds and shared dorms), normal food and eating habits, and of course people – there was rarely a lonely moment on the trip (too busy enjoying visiting lots of amazing places), but I looked forward to seeing family and friends once more.

At Boston Logan Airport, early as usual, I had plenty of time to think over the trip – six full-on weeks of ups and downs, fantastic scenery and a chance to glimpse some of places I’d longed to see for most of my life.

Above: Meiji Shrine, Tokyo (photo by me)

Japan had certainly lived up to (and exceeded) my expectations. Tokyo was otherworldly – an ocean of clean modern streets and vast skyscrapers punctuated by an older, more peaceful world of shrines, temples and gardens. Kyoto was characterised more by the latter, including an incredible mountainside shrine. And then the magic of Osaka Castle. The polite, respectful people; the efficiency and the spotless pavements. All the peculiar quirks that so enchant a naive Westerner.

Above: Views of Kyoto (photos by me)

I knew I wanted to return and see more of the country one day, and to learn the language. The history in particular caught my attention – I longed to know more about the context and culture of a place that seemed so different from home; to grasp the nuances that my short stay and lack of social contact could never reveal.

Above: Views of Osaka (photo by me)

Vying for the top spot in my impromptu ranking was San Francisco. For completely different reasons. I’d been before, but this time I’d been blown away by the city’s beauty and the sheer simplicity of a happiness fuelled by sunshine, warmth and vicinity to the sea. San Francisco had gifted me with true, blissful happiness, as had Japan before it.

Above: Views of San Francisco (photos by me)

Europe had its perks too. Athens had surprised me in many ways – it was most unlike a typical European capital, but I loved its vibrancy and quirks. The ancient sites made me curious about the history imbued in each of those crumbling stone structures, and I’d certainly visit again, hopefully having done more research, so as to appreciate more.

Above: The reconstructed Panathenaic Stadium in Athens (photos by me)

Geneva had made me fall in love with Switzerland. The city, even in cold, dull weather, still inspired, with much to see and do, and a tantalising view of the mountains.

Above: My favourite part of Geneva – the Botanical Gardens (photos by me)

Seville was nice enough, but did little to stimulate my interest in seeing more of Spain – no particular reason, we all have particular affinities with certain places more than others. Vienna was obscured by snow – I’m not sure whether I’d go back though, it was rather expensive. Perhaps Salzberg or Innsbruck might be more up my street? Rome and Naples were ambiguous for me. There is much history to appreciate for a lover of all things past, like me, but I hated how touristy it was. Naples was ruined a little by the terrible hostel, although there were some fabulous views.

Above: Views of Naples (photos by me)

Boston and Chicago were disappointing. The weather did neither any favours, but there was something missing for me in each city. An atmosphere perhaps or some singular amazing attraction or feature? Salem was quaint, and I’d not baulk at seeing more of New England, particularly the Edward Gorey Museum.

Overall, however, the short stays and off-peak time of year worked well for me. Most places were reasonably quiet, and if I didn’t like a place, I didn’t have to endure it for long. I came back with plenty of spending money to spare, and have since worked to save back everything I spent on the trip and more. I packed in a lot for very little money, and every morning, no matter how tired I felt, I went out for the day and did my best to see as much as possible.

There’s something to be said for this as a motto for life – the daily grind makes it easy to underestimate the adventures that can be had; the sheer amount of pleasure that can be squeezed out of a day. Yes being abroad makes this attitude easier to adopt, but in all fairness, much of what brought me happiness on the trip was down to simpler things – appreciating a nice view, enjoying the good fortune of a sunny day and being physically active. I don’t need to travel thousands of miles to sample these sorts of pleasures.

Above: San Francisco (photos by me)

Regrets? I wish I’d made more of an allowance for eating out, sampling more local cuisine. I wish I’d not changed my plans at the end – New Orleans is still calling my name. Perhaps I should have been more forward in striking up conversations with strangers. Maybe I could have been a little less frugal.

However, in the current climate, as job stability continues to decline, with dismal wages and few opportunities in the lines of work I’d hoped to pursue, I’m glad I travelled whilst I still could. I might never get this chance again, and the trip was truly one of the highlights that life has given me so far.

Not only that, but the experience has led to other things. I’m avidly learning Japanese and loving it (even the memorising of kanji, which many seem to hate!); the trip has shaped some of my future plans, and has left me with ideas for new, future art projects. Best of all, it’s given me memories that can bestow a warm, nostalgic glow of happiness on any rainy day.

Above: Kyoto (photos by me)

As my plane passed over Iceland, I spotted another country that might be intriguing. Indeed, if I ever had the money in the future, I’d love to go away for a month or two – and would happily do it frugally again if necessary. Many places on my dream list (Australia, South America, Armenia, Istanbul, the furthest reaches of Northern Europe) were omitted from the final itinerary, and some I’d like to visit with a companion.

http://instagram.com/p/0YbLB9vuoi/

 

Reyjavik’s tiny airport was my last stop before Manchester, where, to my surprise, the sun was shining. I caught the train into the city and then on towards the Peak District and home, the countryside glimmering with the first signs of spring…